Each year, at its Congressional Awards Reception at the US Capitol, the Small Business Council of America honors an outstanding small business person by selecting him or her as the SBCA Small Business Person of the Year.

The purpose of the award is to honor an American business man or woman for outstanding accomplishments in promoting a favorable environment for the small businesses of America.

This award is presented in memory of the late Morton Harris, one of the country’s outstanding tax attorneys.  He was a founder of the SBCA and one of the greatest champions of the SBCA and of small businesses everywhere.

Any SBCA member who has been in good standing for at least one year is eligible to nominate a candidate for the Mort Harris Small Business Person of the Year Award.


Small Business Person of the Year Award Recipients

1996 Carolyn Stradley

1997 John Crabb & Cynthia Hutchinson

1997 George M. McCluskey, Jr.

1998 J. Smith Lanier

1999 Rosa Sugranes

2000 Robert Taichert

2001 Sandy Graffius

2003 Susan Rudder Hall

2004 Albert R. Morris

2005 Kelly A. Paul

2006 Mr. Fran D. Jabara

2007 Alan N. Kanter

2008 Anatole Alper

2009 Marc S. Levine

2009 Bryan Stone

2010 Jay N. and Kashmira J. Sonecha

2011 John K. Barnard

2012 Tony Jimenez

2013 Anthony V. Sblendorio

2014 Susan Preston

2016 Troy Guard

2017 Michael Lastoria

2018 Becca Riker

2019 Kenneth L. Hoffmann