Contact: Paula Calimafde 301-951-9325



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE May 12, 2017

SMALL BUSINESS COUNCIL OF AMERICA HONORS MEMBERS OF CONGRESS AND SMALL BUSINESS OWNERS DURING 34th Annual Public Affairs Day and Congressional Awards Reception

WASHINGTON, D.C. (May 12, 2017) – On May 10, 2017, the Small Business Council of America (SBCA) held its 34th Annual Public Affairs Day and Congressional Awards Reception in Washington, D.C. The SBCA is a national non-partisan nonprofit organization which represents the interests of more than 20,000 privately-held and family-owned organizations on federal tax, employee benefit and health care issues.

The Public Affairs Day and Congressional Awards Reception featured remarks and presentations from members of Congress and congressional staff members, discussions about the critical issues facing small businesses, and the presentation of the SBCA's annual awards.

During the Public Affairs Day, the SBCA presented the following awards:

Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT) was awarded the Special Congressional Achievement for his leadership as Chair of the Senate Finance Committee and his deep understanding of, and commitment to, protecting the private retirement system.

Congressman Sander Levin (D-MI) was awarded the Special Congressional Award in recognition of his many years as a true friend and advocate for small businesses and his continued commitment to small business issues as ranking member of the House Ways and Means Committee.

Congressman Dave Reichert (R-WA) was awarded the Congressional Award for his introduction and sponsorship of the S Corporation Modernization Act of 2017 which, if passed, will provide S corporations with increased access to capital and make it easier to transition S corporations from one generation to the next.

J. Mark Iwry was presented with a Special Achievement Award in recognition of his years of distinguished service with the U.S. Department of Treasury. In his role as Deputy Assistant Secretary and Senior Advisor, Mr. Iwry demonstrated outstanding leadership and dedication to promoting the interests of America's private retirement plan and health care systems and thereby protecting millions of small business employees.

Following the conclusion of Public Affairs Day, the SBCA presented the following awards during its Congressional Awards Reception:



Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) received the Special Congressional Achievement award in recognition of her tireless work as a member of the Senate Budget and Finance Committees and her continued role as a champion of small business issues.

Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) with SBCA President Gary Kushner

The SBCA's Humanitarian of the Year Award was presented to **Gretchen Andeel** and **Jeanine Phillips** of Wichita, KS. Mrs. Andeel and Mrs. Phillips were honored for their work as founders of the Fundamental Learning Center (FLC) a non-profit educational organization based in Wichita, KS serving dyslexic children. Since its founding in 2000, thousands of children have benefitted by receiving services directly from FLC or from a teacher or parent who has received specialized training from FLC. The award was presented to Mrs. Andeel and Mrs. Phillips by **Senator**



Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS) with Gretchen Andeel (left) and Jeanine Phillips (right)

Jerry Moran (R-KS). Thanks to the generous contributions of the SBCA, SBCA Director Neil Carrey and his wife, Karen Carrey, and many SBCA members, the SBCA was able to present the Fundamental Learning Center with a significant contribution from the Chris Carrey Charitable Foundation.



Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) with Michael Lastoria

The SBCA's Mort Harris Small Business Person of the Year Award was presented to Michael Lastoria, of Washington, D.C. Mr. Lastoria is the CEO and Co-Founder of the D.C. based fast-casual pizza restaurant &pizza®, which now has eleven locations in D.C. and over twenty locations around the Mid-Atlantic region. At the helm of &pizza, Mr. Lastoria has championed an employee-friendly approach and has been a strong supporter of increasing federal and state minimum wages. The award was presented to Mr. Lastoria by Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton.

The SBCA's Connie Murdoch Award was presented to **Winnie Coyle** of Columbus, Georgia in recognition of her many years of many years of dedicated service to SBCA. Mrs. Coyle is a long time member of Robinson, Grimes & Company, P.C. where she works closely with the SBCA's Treasurer, Charles Johnson, and has been integral to the administration of the SBCA. The award was presented to Mrs. Coyle by Mr. Johnson and last year's Connie Murdock Award Winner, Sandy Turner.



Winnie Coyle with (left to right) SBCA CEO Matt Kadish, SBCA Treasurer Charles Johnson and Pat Coyle.

The Congressional Awards reception also featured keynote remarks from the SBCA's 2016 Congressional Award Winners Senator James Risch (R-ID) and Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND).

Senator Risch spoke about his service as Chairman of the Senate Small Business Committee and emphasized his belief in working to get government out of the way of small businesses to allow them to thrive.

Senator Heitkamp demonstrated a true understanding of how small businesses work and the challenges they face and discussed how the government can help small businesses be more successful by removing unnecessary paperwork and regulatory burdens.



Senator James Risch (R-ID) with SBCA Board Member Karen Rotgin (left) and SBCA Chair Paula Calimafde (right)



Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

The SBCA offers congratulations to all of its 2017 award winners.

For more information, please feel free to contact:

Matt Kadish Paula Calimafde CEO Chair 216-696-3030 301-951-9325